For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Administration and Organisation

The Centre for Urban Studies is administered as a Research Priority Area in the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences of the University of Amsterdam. The Centre is part of the AISSR, the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research of the University of Amsterdam.

Today, the Centre connects more than 50 researchers and over 50 Post Docs and PhD students from a wide range of disciplines and research groups. At this moment, eligible for membership are all researchers at the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences working on urban issues. Please send us an email if you think you are eligible and want to become a member.

The Centre is directed by Prof. Luca Bertolini, with the support of an Executive Board, consisting of the leaders of the constituent research groups, and an Advisory Board, consisting of young, up-and-coming research leaders. Daily operations are coordinated by Jules Klinkhamer. The future plans of the CUS are described in the Strategic Plan 2018 - 2022

  • Executive Board

    The Centre is supported by an Executive Board consisting of representatives of CUS' affiliated research groups (i.e. the Centre's full professors):

    • Prof. Bertolini, L. (Luca) Chair
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Prof. Brömmelstroet, te, M.C.G. (Marco)
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Prof. Engelen, E.R. (Ewald)
      Geographies of Globalizations (GoG)
    • Prof. Grin, J. (John)
      Transnational Configurations, Conflict and Governance​
    • Prof. Gupta, J. (Joyeeta)
      Governance and Inclusive Development  (GID)
    • Prof. Hemel, J.J.M. (Zef)
      Wibaut Chair in Urban Planning
    • Prof. Dr Jaffe, R.K. (Rivke)
      Governance and Inclusive Development (GID)
    • Prof. Kaika. M. (Maria)
      Urban, Regional and Environmental Planning
    • Prof. Kloosterman, R.C. (Robert)
      Geographies of Globalizations (GoG)
    • Prof. Nevejan, C.I.M. (Caroline)
      Cultural Sociology
    • Prof. Nijman, J.B.F. (Jan)
      Urban Geographies (UG)
    • Prof. Rath, J.C. (Jan)
      Political Sociology: Power, Place and Difference
    • Prof. Dr Ronald, R. (Richard)
      Urban Geographies
    • Prof. Tasan Kok, M.T. (Tuna)
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Prof. Uitermark, J.L. (Justus)
      Political Sociology: Power, Place and Difference
    • Prof. Volker, B.G.M. (Beate)
      Institutions, Inequalities and Life courses (IIL)
  • Advisory Board

    The Urban Studies Advisory Board functions as a 'Young Board', is more involved in the Centre's daily affairs, and was given room by the Executive Board to develop the Centre's strategic direction in terms of its internal synergy and public and academic outreach. Advisory Board members are:

    • Prof. Bertolini, L. (Luca) Chair
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Dr Giezen, M. (Mendel)
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Dr Mamadouh, V.D. (Virginie)
      Geographies of Globalizations
    • Dr Pinkster, F.M. (Fenne)
      Urban Geographies (UG)
    • Dr Savini, F. (Federico)
      Urban Planning (UP)
    • Dr Sezneva, O. (Olga)
      Cultural Sociology
    • Dr Sooudi, O. (Olga)
      Moving Matters: People, Goods, Power and Ideas
    • Dr Vermeulen, F.F. (Floris)
      Challenges to Democratic Representation
    • Dr Verrest, H.J.L.M. (Hebe)
      Governance and Inclusive Development (GID)
    • Dr Vigneswaran, D.V. (Darshan)
      Transnational Configurations, Conflict and Governance